[Janielle Mckoy] Day in the Distillery District

Since I moved to Toronto in 2014, people have been telling me about this place called the Distillery district, and how every photographer needs to go there and get some amazing shots.

Im not usually the “follow fashion” type, but when I got the opportunity to create some content for Janielle’s personal website www.janiellemckoy.com/, this was the exact location she had in mind.

It was an early morning in the spring, around 8am. The first thing I did, was walk all over the place  looking for inconspicuous  areas that I hadn’t seen in any of the other pictures on google (I definitely make sure to search google images before every outdoor shoot just to make sure I can do the opposite of what everyone else does).

Janielle-Mckoy-by-tremaine-gordonjanielle-mckoy-by-tremaine-gordon-2janielle-mckoy-by-tremaine-gordon-3

Janielle had a young up and coming stylist with her who goes by the name Banks. You can check out some of her work at Brown-brick.tumblr.com.  I loved how professional she was. I could tell she took her work very seriously because every minute she was running to fix something on Janielle’s outfit (this wouldn’t be the last time I’d have the pleasure of working with her).

When I saw Janielle’s look, I instantly thought of VIBE Magazine in the early 2000’s (Why? I don’t know, that’s just what came to mind) and wanted to make sure I framed my photos to match.

By the time I found this giant green door, the sun was hitting just right and I was ready to shoot! The rest is history.

You can check out some of the rest of the shoot.  Again, keep in mind I wanted my first time at the distillery district to have a completely fresh feel to it.  Since I moved to Toronto in 2014, people have been telling me about this place called the Distillery district, and how every photographer needs to go there and get some amazing shots.

Big thanks to Janielle for choosing me to deliver her website visuals. You can connect with her on IG: @janiellemckoy. You can also follow @Banksbanks_ on IG and witness greatness.

janielle-mckoy-tremaine-gordon

Leave a Reply

